## **Notice**

2018 was no less busy at *Biolinguistics* than previous years. Apart from the new volume collected here (as well as several ongoing review processes of new manuscript submissions), this year saw the completion of the Special Issue on the 50th anniversary of the publication of Eric Lenneberg's *Biological Foundations of Language*, expertly guest-edited by Patrick Trettenbrein. 50 Years Later: A Tribute to Eric Lenneberg's Biological Foundations of Language can be downloaded from <a href="https://www.biolinguistics.eu/index.php/biolinguistics/issue/view/30">https://www.biolinguistics.eu/index.php/biolinguistics/issue/view/30</a>.

Towards the end of the year, Noam Chomsky celebrated his 90th birthday. And while *Biolinguistics* did not do anything special, it is quite clear that without Noam Chomsky there would arguably be no 'biolinguistics' (or, as the special issue showed, in juxtaposition with Eric Lenneberg). But Michael Schiffmann, a long-standing supporter of *Biolinguistics*, put together a wonderfully informal festschrift on this occasion, *Revolutionary New Ideas Appear Infrequently (Or Don't They?)*, which can possibly be obtained directly from him (mikschiff@t-online.de).

The biggest changes for the journal concern operational issues, however. We recently completed migration to full compatibility with the latest version of Open Journal Systems (and are working hard to overcome teething problems). Ideally, there will be no relevant backlash for readers, authors, and reviewers—but if you experience any unwelcome challenges, please do get in touch with a simple email to <a href="mailto:kleanthes@biolinguistics.eu">kleanthi@ucv.ac.cv</a>.

We also implemented editorial changes, where yours truly as Editor-in-Chief will from now on be supported by four capable Associate Editors:

- Maria Kambanaros, Associate Professor of Speech Pathology in the Department of Rehabilitation Sciences and Director of the Neurorehabilitation Lab at Cyprus University of Technology, will be in charge of submissions within the areas of language pathology and covering clinical issues;
- Evelina Leivada, Marie Skłodowska-Curie Postdoctoral Fellow at UiT–The Arctic University of Tromsø and member of the Cyprus Acquisition Team (CAT Lab) as well as the research centers Language Acquisition, Variation & Attrition (LAVA) and Acquisition, Variation & Attrition (AqVA), will be responsible for psycho- and experimental linguistics;
- Patrick C. Trettenbrein, PhD student in the Department of Neuropsychology at the Max Planck Institute for Human Cognitive & Brain Sciences in Leipzig, will handle all things concerning neurolinguistics and cognitive neuroscience of language; and
- Bridget D. Samuels, Senior Editor for the Center for Craniofacial Molecular Biology at the University of Southern California, will cover all submissions relating to phonology and language evolution.



In addition to the website transition and the instantiation of our new core editorial team, we are also reworking the layout of how the published goods are going to look in the future. One of the latest innovations we are implementing is the introduction of Registered Reports in 2019—alongside Articles, Briefs, Reviews, and Forum contributions, as well as the occasional Editorial. Registered Reports will be reviewed over two stages on the basis of a detailed study protocol prior to the actual research to be carried out (see this external link for more, which will be adapted to *Biolinguistics* very soon: <a href="https://cos.io/rr">https://cos.io/rr</a>).

Lastly, a big thank-you to all the reviewers that have served *Biolinguistics* throughout 2018. They are listed below by name (in alphabetical order). For everything else, I thank all supporters as well as the members of the *Biolinguistics* Advisory Board, the Editorial Board, and the Task Team that are not specifically mentioned by name for active participation and constructive feedback all the way through. Next year's notice will come from an even stronger editorial team.

## **Reviewers**

Sergio Balari John Bolender Koji Fujita Anna Gavarró Wolfram Hinzen Guillermo Lorenzo Katy McKinney-Bock Shigeru Miyagawa Massimo Piattelli-Palmarini Aniello de Santo Dook Shepherd Maggie Tallerman Andreas Trotzke Jeffrey Watumull